Page 3 of 8

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2025 4:09 pm
by Andrew
EmmBee wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 3:18 pm It reports 7 "is not loaded" messages. These are RMODE MDALLOC MDGOOD MDFREE MDNAME$ MDFSIZE and CHAN_W%
After checking Dilwyn's namecheck program, these names appear to be from "Reserved" tookit. So, where can I find this, please?

EmmBee
They are in win1_QLC227_qlc_code!
You probably missed this file. It's in the archive - size 2884 bytes.
QLC_code from this version is different from qlc_code from the previous QLCommander version, so use the one from the archive.

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2025 7:39 pm
by EmmBee
Thanks - that helps. But I still get one report.
This is what I do . . .

lrespr win1_QLC227_qlc_code
lrun win1_QLC227_qlcconfig_bas
press F1 to save setup options
press Q to Quit
execute win1_QLC227_qlc227m2_exe

RMODE is not loaded.

EmmBee

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Sat Mar 15, 2025 9:32 pm
by Andrew
EmmBee wrote: Sat Mar 15, 2025 7:39 pm Thanks - that helps. But I still get one report.
This is what I do . . .

lrespr win1_QLC227_qlc_code
lrun win1_QLC227_qlcconfig_bas
press F1 to save setup options
press Q to Quit
execute win1_QLC227_qlc227m2_exe

RMODE is not loaded.

EmmBee
QLC uses the following extensions :
• qlc_code (contains More_code, Header_code , Chans_code and Function_code, all from DIY Toolkit + MDInfo toolkit )
• QPTR toolkit
• Turbo Toolkit
• Toolkit 2 (On Qemulator use v2.32 or newer – on QL at least v2.88, but v2.32 or newer is recommended)
• PE environment (hot_rext, ptr_gen, wman – only on QDOS, not needed on SMSQ/E)

RMODE is part of qptr_bin.

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2025 6:39 pm
by Andrew
NEW VERSION for testers

Changes:
- fixed the bug found by Javier
- fixed some more small bugs in code
- reduced the code size and optimised some procedures
- new QLC_Code versions:
  • qlcsms_code: for SMSQE
  • qlcmin_code: for Minerva (it's qlcsms_code +OUTLN_code)
  • qptr_bin is not needed anymore !!
- updated viewimage programs

Known issues:
- on Minerva +PE, if emulator/QL speed is greater than SGC speed then when the program starts the screen is not rendered completely and you need to use the Redraw command (SHIFTt-F5, then 8) to redraw the screen. I have no idea why this happens - it also happened before, in previous versions, since the first release.

Toolkits needed to run the program

On SMSQ/E
• Turbo Toolkit turbo_sms_code
• Toolkit 2
• qlcsms_code

On Minerva
• Turbo Toolkit turbo_tk_code
• Toolkit 2
• Pointer Environment (hot_rext, ptr_gen, wman)
• qlcmin_code

Install in directory win1_QLC_ or in any other directory. On SMSQ/E the program uses the Home_Thing, so it knows were it is started from. On Minerva+PE you have to pass the directory as parameter as before, if you use another directory.

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2025 9:43 pm
by javier2112
Excellent work Andrew. I use QL Commander v227 every day and it's one of my favourites applications for my QL.

Unfortunately I've found some problems in the previous beta that remains in the current one:
1) If I set up an unmounted partition as initial path for a panel, QLC displays the following message error:
"Task QLC227M4 halted, after line 15345. Reason: not found."

Then QLC closes. In v21, it beeps but doesn't close.

2) Sometimes, when I try to list the contents or unzip a zip file, I get an error like before close itself:
"Task QLC227M4 halted, after line 18190 adjust DATASPACE please."

It seems related to Turbo.

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Mon Mar 17, 2025 10:38 pm
by Andrew
javier2112 wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 9:43 pm Excellent work Andrew. I use QL Commander v227 every day and it's one of my favourites applications for my QL.

Unfortunately I've found some problems in the previous beta that remains in the current one:
1) If I set up an unmounted partition as initial path for a panel, QLC displays the following message error:
"Task QLC227M4 halted, after line 15345. Reason: not found."

Then QLC closes. In v21, it beeps but doesn't close.
At line 15345 I call MDFREE that calculates the free space in drive. MDFREE is part of Per's toolkit MDINFO.
In v2.1 I did not displayed the free space on drive, so I didn't used MDINFO ...

I cannot replicate this bug on my systems (QPC, Q68, QL+SGC+QL-SD)
So I need more details about your system: memory, storage (Qubide, QL-SD or QIMSI). When you say "unmounted partition" my guess is that you are using a QUBIDE.
I have no idea how to test if a partition is mounted or not. Maybe someone knows and can help!!
javier2112 wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 9:43 pm 2) Sometimes, when I try to list the contents or unzip a zip file, I get an error like before close itself:
"Task QLC227M4 halted, after line 18190 adjust DATASPACE please."

It seems it's related to Turbo.
I will increase the dataspace. Turbo is using a lot of dataspace...

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2025 11:31 am
by pjw
Andrew wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 10:38 pm
javier2112 wrote: Mon Mar 17, 2025 9:43 pm Excellent work Andrew. I use QL Commander v227 every day and it's one of my favourites applications for my QL.

Unfortunately I've found some problems in the previous beta that remains in the current one:
1) If I set up an unmounted partition as initial path for a panel, QLC displays the following message error:
"Task QLC227M4 halted, after line 15345. Reason: not found."

Then QLC closes. In v21, it beeps but doesn't close.
At line 15345 I call MDFREE that calculates the free space in drive. MDFREE is part of Per's toolkit MDINFO.
In v2.1 I did not displayed the free space on drive, so I didn't used MDINFO ...
<>
If the drive is not mounted or present, MDFREE returns a "hard" error as intended. Perhaps I should change this? In the mean time, always test for the existence of the device with, for example, FTEST, or

ch = FOP_IN(devN_): if ch < 0: DoErrorStuff: else: free = MDFREE(#ch): close#ch

is probably the most elegant.

The possible problem with MDFREE returning either the free space OR and error is thay I dont know what returns can be expected from multi-terrabyte disks and the like.

Andrew, did you ever test MDxxx with your 14TB disks?

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2025 11:49 am
by pjw
PS: Executing QLC227_exe in SMSQmulator I get the error "MORE is not loaded"

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2025 12:11 pm
by Andrew
pjw wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 11:49 am PS: Executing QLC227_exe in SMSQmulator I get the error "MORE is not loaded"
More should be in qlcsms_code and qlcmin_code.
I'll check when i get home - maybe i forgot to add it there 🤔

Re: QLCommander v 2.2.7- For Testers!

Posted: Tue Mar 18, 2025 12:59 pm
by Andrew
pjw wrote: Tue Mar 18, 2025 11:31 am Andrew, did you ever test MDxxx with your 14TB disks?
I did some tests a few weeks ago - up to 4 TB is ok, beyond 4TB the info is not correct, but at least is not crashing. I will test again today.
But i found a possible bug in MDFree - i will document it, with steps.