Wondering if a "dead test" ROM is feasible on the QL.

A place to discuss general QL issues.
User avatar
tofro
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 3057
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Wondering if a "dead test" ROM is feasible on the QL.

Post by tofro »

Pr0f wrote: Fri Apr 25, 2025 7:27 pm
I suppose a checksum calculation on the lower 48K coud tell you which ROM might be installed as well.
Well, that's not very useful. Of course, it's going to be the ROM that's just running....


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
Martin_Head
Aurora
Posts: 964
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 1:17 pm

Re: Wondering if a "dead test" ROM is feasible on the QL.

Post by Martin_Head »

A long time ago. Where I used to work repairing printers, we had some small testers that you plugged into a ROM socket to preform various tests on the printers boards.

It comprised of a small board with a four character, seven segment display, a rotary switch to select a test, a ROM which could be changed depending on which printer model you had. And had one or two other small IC's.

It was maybe twice the size of a Minerva board. You just selected the test you wanted, then powered up the board. The display would report PASS or FAIL. It could test RAM, motors, the control panel etc. And I think one test would drive the data and address lines with square waves.

Like what you are suggesting, this relied on the Processor actually working.

But something like this could be useful on a QL as you don't need to rely on the QL's display working to know a test has passed or failed.


stephen_usher
Super Gold Card
Posts: 511
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:00 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Wondering if a "dead test" ROM is feasible on the QL.

Post by stephen_usher »

I've uploaded the project onto GitHub: https://github.com/stephen-usher/Sincla ... l-Diag-ROM

The next part of the code will be basic testing of the IPC before doing anything else. As I mentioned before, if any of you wish to contribute test code please feel free. Hopefully this can become the Amiga DiagROM equivalent for the QL.


Derek_Stewart
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 4652
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
Location: Sunny Runcorn, Cheshire, UK

Re: Wondering if a "dead test" ROM is feasible on the QL.

Post by Derek_Stewart »

Hi,


Excellent work on the assembley language routine.

I was thinking the same think, but using PJWs idea of a plugin Arduino or Raspberry Pi board or similar, that could interface withe QL, and use PROFs idea of enabling each specific function of the QL like a sub-circuit, by using BR / BG logic and Address lies to test each function of the QL circuit board.

The advantage if this is the test routines could be written in a higher level language like C.

The diagnostic board could use the main expansion connector, giving access to all the QL board functions.
Last edited by Derek_Stewart on Sun Apr 27, 2025 7:00 am, edited 1 time in total.


Regards,

Derek
stephen_usher
Super Gold Card
Posts: 511
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:00 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Wondering if a "dead test" ROM is feasible on the QL.

Post by stephen_usher »

All diagnostic tools are useful and test things differently. You can't have too many. :-)

An EPROM and adapter are cheap and quick and easy to make, so that's the main advantage.


User avatar
Pr0f
QL Wafer Drive
Posts: 1539
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:54 am

Re: Wondering if a "dead test" ROM is feasible on the QL.

Post by Pr0f »

tofro wrote: Sat Apr 26, 2025 10:58 am
Pr0f wrote: Fri Apr 25, 2025 7:27 pm
I suppose a checksum calculation on the lower 48K coud tell you which ROM might be installed as well.
Well, that's not very useful. Of course, it's going to be the ROM that's just running....
The original post suggested the ROM may be plugged into the ROM port - and potentially called from the OS ROM - so my comment wasn't that unuseful - you've just made an assumption as did I about where the ROM was running from. ;-)


User avatar
tofro
Font of All Knowledge
Posts: 3057
Joined: Sun Feb 13, 2011 10:53 pm
Location: SW Germany

Re: Wondering if a "dead test" ROM is feasible on the QL.

Post by tofro »

Pr0f wrote: Sat Apr 26, 2025 12:46 pm
tofro wrote: Sat Apr 26, 2025 10:58 am
Pr0f wrote: Fri Apr 25, 2025 7:27 pm
I suppose a checksum calculation on the lower 48K coud tell you which ROM might be installed as well.
Well, that's not very useful. Of course, it's going to be the ROM that's just running....
The original post suggested the ROM may be plugged into the ROM port - and potentially called from the OS ROM - so my comment wasn't that unuseful - you've just made an assumption as did I about where the ROM was running from. ;-)
I really made that assumption in your favour, because: As (as mentioned above) the ROM port ROM on the QL is (different from most cartridge-supporting computers like the Atari ST and C64, for example) enabled very, very late in the boot process, you basically need a fully working QL to be able to execute any diag code from there. A fully-working QL has VER$ to verify the ROM version.....


ʎɐqǝ ɯoɹɟ ǝq oʇ ƃuᴉoƃ ʇou sᴉ pɹɐoqʎǝʞ ʇxǝu ʎɯ 'ɹɐǝp ɥO
stephen_usher
Super Gold Card
Posts: 511
Joined: Tue Mar 11, 2014 8:00 pm
Location: Oxford, UK.
Contact:

Re: Wondering if a "dead test" ROM is feasible on the QL.

Post by stephen_usher »

Code updated, mostly a tidy but also a routine to print to the screen without using RAM, which is used at initialisation and in the memory test error routine.

I need to write an integer to acsii converter library routine for the main code and something to allow printing useful memory test errors.

Patched sQLux so that it outputs the bytes send to I/O-base + 0x22 to stdout so I can verify that the code is sending the right stuff to the serial port.


Post Reply