sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
-
- Font of All Knowledge
- Posts: 4668
- Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 11:40 am
- Location: Sunny Runcorn, Cheshire, UK
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
Hi,
I compile the source code in a source code directory in my home directory. I then copy the compiled executable to a directory called: ~/sqlux
this directory has all the rom and qwa files and the confiuration file.
I launch sqlux by a launcher or shortcut with the the command line: ~/sqlux/sqlux -f ~/sqlux/sqlux.ini
All the configuration settings are in sqlux.ini
Works quite well for me.
I compile the source code in a source code directory in my home directory. I then copy the compiled executable to a directory called: ~/sqlux
this directory has all the rom and qwa files and the confiuration file.
I launch sqlux by a launcher or shortcut with the the command line: ~/sqlux/sqlux -f ~/sqlux/sqlux.ini
All the configuration settings are in sqlux.ini
Works quite well for me.
Regards,
Derek
Derek
- XorA
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1616
- Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
- Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
I never finished the installer bits of cmaketofro wrote: Wed Nov 30, 2022 10:32 am I'm a bit at loss where the new builds want to be installed on a Linux system (Debian).
I successfully compiled the newest version - and it runs fine in the build directory - but really am a bit at loss on where it wants to install (my CMake foo is not the best):
'make install' moves the binary to /usr/local/bin/uqlx - but doesn't do anything about the support directories like "roms" and the like, it also doesn't do anything with sqlux.ini. The built binary seems to be expecting ROMs in the relative directory "roms/" - which is not very helpful.
What do I need to set to make the sqlux support dirs install to, for example "/usr/local/share/sqlux"? Is there an environment variable I need to set?
- Sparrowhawk
- Super Gold Card
- Posts: 719
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: @131072
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
Having a bit of an issue when trying to build sQLux on this laptop (an old Lenovo Ideapad with 7th gen i3 that I have pimped out to 16GB and a new M2 SSD) - it's running Zorin OS 16.2 (so based off Ubuntu 20.04 LTS with latest kernel updates)
cmake, gcc and libsdl2 are all installed
cmake works fine, but make fails at 97% with:
I'm probably missing a lib - can anyone help out?
cmake, gcc and libsdl2 are all installed
cmake works fine, but make fails at 97% with:
Code: Select all
[ 97%] Building CXX object CMakeFiles/sqlux.dir/src/SqluxOptions.cpp.o
/home/jean-yves/Downloads/sQLux-master/src/SqluxOptions.cpp:11:10: fatal error: CLI/App.hpp: No such file or directory
11 | #include "CLI/App.hpp"
| ^~~~~~~~~~~~~
compilation terminated.
make[2]: *** [CMakeFiles/sqlux.dir/build.make:609: CMakeFiles/sqlux.dir/src/SqluxOptions.cpp.o] Error 1
make[1]: *** [CMakeFiles/Makefile2:77: CMakeFiles/sqlux.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [Makefile:130: all] Error 2
a.k.a. Jean-Yves
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
#bin/bash/
# clone sources from Github
# compile and start sQLux
# dependecies
# git cmake sdl2>=2.0.9 libsdl2
rm -r sQLux
git clone --recursive https://github.com/SinclairQL/sQLux.git
cd sQLux
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make
./sqlux
save as sqluxbuild.sh
hope it helps
Markus
# clone sources from Github
# compile and start sQLux
# dependecies
# git cmake sdl2>=2.0.9 libsdl2
rm -r sQLux
git clone --recursive https://github.com/SinclairQL/sQLux.git
cd sQLux
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
make
./sqlux
save as sqluxbuild.sh
hope it helps
Markus
- Sparrowhawk
- Super Gold Card
- Posts: 719
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: @131072
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
Hi Markus, that's pretty much what I did, except than instead of cloning the repo I just downloaded the zip file.
All other steps are identical to what I did. Failed at final step, i.e. make.
I'll try the git way, just in case for any reason I get a different codebase, but my understanding of the Zip option on github is that it picks up the code at that point in time, not an older version, so I should have got the current master contents.
All other steps are identical to what I did. Failed at final step, i.e. make.
I'll try the git way, just in case for any reason I get a different codebase, but my understanding of the Zip option on github is that it picks up the code at that point in time, not an older version, so I should have got the current master contents.
a.k.a. Jean-Yves
- Sparrowhawk
- Super Gold Card
- Posts: 719
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: @131072
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
Worked using the git way. Hey ho
Thanks again Markus.

Thanks again Markus.
a.k.a. Jean-Yves
- XorA
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1616
- Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
- Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
The Zip does not contain submodules!Sparrowhawk wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 1:27 pm Hi Markus, that's pretty much what I did, except than instead of cloning the repo I just downloaded the zip file.
All other steps are identical to what I did. Failed at final step, i.e. make.
I'll try the git way, just in case for any reason I get a different codebase, but my understanding of the Zip option on github is that it picks up the code at that point in time, not an older version, so I should have got the current master contents.
desin is correct in his procedure!
- Sparrowhawk
- Super Gold Card
- Posts: 719
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: @131072
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
Ahah. I never knew this. TBH, I never use git submodules, too arcane an art for me
I was following the instructions on here: http://swensont.epizy.com/sQLux.pdf which I suspect are now out of date?
Anyway, all looking good now - amazing work btw. I have FLP1_ pointing to a folder, WIN1_ to a win file, I have the window looking lovely with smooth fonts, XChange running etc etc.
One last thing - I'm a relative newcomer to Linux desktops (I deploy a lot stuff to servers, so quite happy around the command line etc). When I add a Main Menu entry for the sqlux binary, nothing happens when I try to run it, whether or not I tell it to run from Terminal or not, and whether or not I specify the path to the ini file with -f.
Nothing happens at all. No flash of an app opening and closing quickly, no errors. Nowt.
When I run sqlux from within its directory, as I said, all works fine.
Could somebody with better Linux knowledge help me out for this final hurdle?
Directory details:
The command param of the Main Menu (this is a Gnome-based desktop):
Thanks!

I was following the instructions on here: http://swensont.epizy.com/sQLux.pdf which I suspect are now out of date?
Anyway, all looking good now - amazing work btw. I have FLP1_ pointing to a folder, WIN1_ to a win file, I have the window looking lovely with smooth fonts, XChange running etc etc.
One last thing - I'm a relative newcomer to Linux desktops (I deploy a lot stuff to servers, so quite happy around the command line etc). When I add a Main Menu entry for the sqlux binary, nothing happens when I try to run it, whether or not I tell it to run from Terminal or not, and whether or not I specify the path to the ini file with -f.
Nothing happens at all. No flash of an app opening and closing quickly, no errors. Nowt.
When I run sqlux from within its directory, as I said, all works fine.
Could somebody with better Linux knowledge help me out for this final hurdle?
Directory details:
Code: Select all
jean-yves@Eowyn:/opt/sQLux$ ls -al
total 1000
drwxr-xr-x 4 jean-yves jean-yves 4096 Jan 19 14:31 .
drwxr-xr-x 10 root root 4096 Jan 19 13:35 ..
drwxrwxr-x 3 jean-yves jean-yves 4096 Jan 19 14:16 drives
drwxrwxr-x 2 jean-yves jean-yves 4096 Jan 19 13:37 roms
-rwxrwxr-x 1 jean-yves jean-yves 836464 Jan 19 13:36 sqlux
-rw-rw-r-- 1 jean-yves jean-yves 1144 Jan 19 14:31 sqlux.ini
-rw-rw-r-- 1 jean-yves jean-yves 153280 Jan 19 14:19 sQLuxLogo.ico
-rw-rw-r-- 1 jean-yves jean-yves 253 Jan 19 14:19 sQLuxLogo.png
-rw-rw-r-- 1 jean-yves jean-yves 24 Jan 19 14:19 sQLuxLogo.rc
Code: Select all
/opt/sQLux/sqlux -f /opt/sQLux/sqlux.ini
a.k.a. Jean-Yves
- Sparrowhawk
- Super Gold Card
- Posts: 719
- Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 12:33 pm
- Location: @131072
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
OK I took a look at the system logs and the ROMs could not be found. Given that info, I changed the paths to the ROM and device folders to be absolute paths in the sqlux.ini file and now all works as expected.
I'm surprised though, I would have thought that the path of the roms and devices folders when called from the menu would be relative to the called executable itself.
I'm surprised though, I would have thought that the path of the roms and devices folders when called from the menu would be relative to the called executable itself.
a.k.a. Jean-Yves
- XorA
- Site Admin
- Posts: 1616
- Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2011 11:31 am
- Location: Shotts, North Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK
Re: sQLux v1.0 (The Xmas Turkey)
Patches welcome to add thatSparrowhawk wrote: Thu Jan 19, 2023 3:35 pm OK I took a look at the system logs and the ROMs could not be found. Given that info, I changed the paths to the ROM and device folders to be absolute paths in the sqlux.ini file and now all works as expected.
I'm surprised though, I would have thought that the path of the roms and devices folders when called from the menu would be relative to the called executable itself.

What it came down to in the end is rom/config location is very OS specific and my brain ached with implementing search paths!